Ewen Solon's Official Website


Radio operator
   gallery picture
Violent fugitive and mistreated small boy team up to flee from authority.

  • Actor Character
  • Dirk Bogarde Chris Lloyd
  • Kay Walsh Mrs. Sykes
  • Elizabeth Sellars Magda Lloyd
  • Geoffrey Keen Det. Insp. Deakin
  • Frederick Piper Mr. Sykes
  • Jane Aird Mrs. Campbell
  • Julian Somers Jack Lloyd
  • Jon Whiteley Robbie
  • Jack Stewart Mr. Campbell
  • Douglas Blackwell Det. Sgt. Grayson
  • Leonard White Police station sergeant
  • Gerald Anderson Assistant Commissioner
  • Denis Webb Chief Superintendent
  • Gerald Case Deputy Assistant Commissioner
  • John Bushelle Chief Inspector
  • Ewen Solon Radio operator
  • Katharine Blake Waitress
  • Molly Urquhart Barmaid
  • Sam Kydd Potman
  • Joe Linnane Pawnbroker
  • Howard Lane Policeman
  • Grace Arnold Woman in courtyard
  • Alec Finter McDougall
  • Allan Scott Village policeman
  • Harry Quashie Coloured man
  • Ian Hunter Boat owner's son
  • Jack Lambert
  • Patrick Westwood Lorry driver's mate.

Directed by
Charles Crichton
Writing credits (in alphabetical order)
Michael McCarthy story
Jack Whittingham
Produced by
Julian Wintle producer
Original Music by
Hubert Clifford
Cinematography by
Eric Cross
Film Editing by
Gordon Hales
Geoffrey Muller
Art Direction by
Alex Vetchinsky
Makeup Department
George Blackler makeup artist
Production Management
George Mills production manager
Second Unit or Assistant Director
Ted Holliday assistant director
Sound Department
Graeme Hamilton sound editor
Gordon K. McCallum sound mixer
Gordon K. McCallum sound recordist
John W. Mitchell sound recordist
Other crew
Arthur Alcott production controller
Barbara Cole continuity
Bob Thompson camera operator